5 days, 5 photos, 5 stories

FIVE DAYS CHALLENGE- DAY 5

image

It was the happiest day of my life when Ammi Abba brought Aamir home. That’s all I ever wanted – a little brother. I was 6 and for all I knew he was the apple of my eye. For hours together I would sit beside him and cuddle him or simply stare at him whilst he was in his peaceful deep slumber. Alhamdulillah! Since then, all my duaas were always directed towards him.

I enjoyed doing things for him. To bathe him, powder him, clothe him, feed him and till date he is my baby brother. He is going to come to meet me today from Leeds and I can’t stop smiling.

Aamir had a hard time as a kid. When he was 4, he had trouble learning and memorizing like other kids. Often he would come back from school either scolded by teacher for being inattentive, or by being bullied by peers. When he told his teacher he cannot see and text gets blurred, we got his eyes tested. Everything turned out to normal. We thought he was making up stories.

At nights he would coherently sob and would beg not to go to school. My heart would go for him when I saw my parents sending him to school day after day. So oft he would remaim distressed with comments about his illegible handwriting and wrong spellings. Never could he complete his papers. So much that even mother had given up on the harsh words from teachers and neighbours. It was only after 2 years when we first heard about dyslexia. When we researched about the symptoms, we realised that Aamir possibly is going through the same. Examination affirmed that.

We knew he was different but that didn’t make him any less special. We realised that we could not let him go through this struggle alone. With patience and some brain racking, ammi, abba and I came up with some ideas to make learning easy for Aamir. Alhamdulillah, little do we realise the blessings hidden behind every pain.

Soon we were trying so many alternate learning methods. We made colourful graphics, Sand trays, paper cuttings etc. Alhamdulillah, our evenings were spent learning and teaching each other in all fun methods! Verily with hardship comes ease. The four of us were bonded closer than ever.

I can still reflect upon those moments wherein we sat by the fireplace, sipping soup and laughing away as Aamir would show us his tactics and skills! The rhymes that he learnt, the special friends that he made. How with love I would cuddle him to sleep…. how I didn’t realise when he grew up into a fine young man we are so proud of. With love and affection, one can attain feat over the highest mountains.

Aamir started doing better as he grew. Time and trials made us better equipped. We started understanding him and recognising his skills. More than anything else we could see his softness and kindness. It was indeed Allah’s hidden blessings. When we started off, we had no aim ahead except to please Allah subhanah wa ta’ala and strive for jannah but today we can see the outcome.

Aamir is 41 now. A successful lawyer, married to a beautiful lady and with a lovely daughter! He is the perfect son to my parents and the most generous brother. Alhamdulillah, a very caring human too. As for me, I started a school for dyslexic children. I started it to tell the world that they too are special amanah of Allah subhanah wa ta’ala. They too deserve the best.

Alhamdulillah, indeed every person who comes in your life has a purpose. For me, my life’s lesson was my own brother.. Aamir.

#a fictional tale

******************************************

I wish to thank sister fatmawaty who has selected me to participate in this “Five Days Challenge”. I’m supposed to post a picture each for five days and write a story keeping the picture as the theme. It may be a fiction or non fiction of any length. Each day I also have to nominate a fellow blogger to participate in this 5 days challenge.

My nominee for today is sisterofislam30. There is no compulsion for you to accept it but it is a fun activity and will get your brains racking! So go for it :-*

Standard

8 thoughts on “FIVE DAYS CHALLENGE- DAY 5

  1. Subhan Allah! What a wonderful inspirational story to read. Allah never leaves any slave and provides each one a reason to be in this beautiful earth. MashAllah I am sure your brother is one who changed many lives and could be a great image for many to look at! May Allah grant him, his family, you and your family along with us all success, happiness and peace and may Allah guide us all to the straight path and let us reunite in Jannat Al Fardos, Ameen ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

