my journey as a revert muslimah

TEN THINGS REVERTS GET TO HEAR

After speaking to a few revert friends, I realised that many of us go through the same stuff on and off. Sometimes ordeals with family, sometimes with friends, sometimes born muslims and sometimes simply with random someones who find out we have reverted to Islam. Here are some of the things we reverts often get to hear, so much that now we have perhaps memorized the responses!

DISCLAIMER: I am aware that most of these questions are asked in complete innocence by people unaware of the answers, out of curiosity and they don’t know that we have been answering it already to hundreds. Also, we welcome questions rather than prejudices and prefer being asked if it helps to remove preconceived notions. This post is written in a light mood and is meant to spread humour. We love you all. Please laugh and pass.

image

1) WHY DID YOU ACCEPT ISLAM? THERE IS SO MUCH VIOLENCE IN IT.

Umm yeah and I am that psycho person with a violent streak within. I am the one responsible for the dead dog down the lane and with Islam my search to justify my hunger for blood ended. In fact, right now right here I am looking at my next prey sitting in front of me!**

Duh! Please no. πŸ™‚Β  The immediate response is “Why are all terrorists muslims then?”. Well, I think you need to have a more careful look at your newspapers to see whether actually every crime is committed by a muslim? And hey, if you really want to remember the acts of some lunatics on 9/11 and make the lives of muslim civilians miserable, then why do you choose to forget the KKK, World Wars or wars by Ashoka?

Dearest, we are 1 in every 5 in this world. If the Quran really demanded us to kill, you think killing just 4 would be so difficult for us and in that case, (if you are a non-muslim), would you be sitting there alive and asking me this question?**

Do wonder..

2) WHY DO YOU WEAR THE HIJAB WHEN MY BORN MUSLIM FRIENDS DON’T?

Ummm…because I want to obey Allah! We cannot be liable for what every person with a muslim name does. πŸ˜€ I mean, some don’t even know fundamentals of Islam. So if there is a terrorist planting bombs or a woman wearing a bikini, and they have a muslim sounding name am I supposed to have a telepathic connection with them once I accept Islam?**

No? Ummmm….then how would I know why they do what they do? I can only tell you why I do what I do! If you assume that every muslim has the superpower to read each other’s mind, well then you are mistaken. πŸ™‚ We function just as you do.

But they say it is a choice. It is not compulsory”. Ahem. Fortunately, it is compulsory and written in the Quran. Reasons are many (we shall deal with them in future In Shaa Allah), and one who understands the wisdom behind it is blessed SubhanAllah. May Allah guide us all.

3) DO YOU HAVE A MUSLIM BOYFRIEND?

No, I don’t. In this matter my heart goes out to them who have muslim husbands or are going to marry a muslim man soon In Shaa Allah. People easily conclude the reason for their reversion is marriage/ love. Uhh. Sadly, even though people marry muslims, they have a brain of their own.

Please read an amazing blog by thefitmuslimgirl on this topic:
http://fitmuslimgirl.com/2015/01/07/i-am-not-brainwashed/

4) DO YOU REALLY PRAY 5 TIMES? EVEN MY MUSLIM FRIENDS DON’T.

Please my friend please. It is a torture to compare my choices with your muslim friends! πŸ˜₯

Well yes, I do because I believe I am blessed to have been chosen to be His servant. I am blessed to understand the concept of pure monotheism and accept it. I am grateful and salah(namaz/ prayer) is one of the pillars of Islam. Scholars unanimously agree that one who doesn’t pray is kuffar. Isn’t it wierd to choose to become a muslim and then again do deeds to get back to kuffarism?

Another statement that I get is “people do it after 50″. Ummmm, sad enough, deeds are recorded from the time we hit puberty. I didn’t know there was a special agreement between you and Allah that you will live beyond 50.**

image

5) HUMANITY IS THE ONLY RELIGION. WHY CONVERT?

Humanity is a part of religion. Humanity is a part of human nature. Religion is to teach you whom to worship. Religion is to connect you spiritually with your Maker, your Lord, your Creator. It is about worshipping the one and only God. Every religion preaches humanity but please do not mix humanity with religion.

It is like we put sugar in cakes then we say, “sugar is only cake. Why eat cakes?”.Β  I hope that makes sense.

6) I HAVE HEARD THAT A HUSBAND CAN BEAT HIS WIFE? WHAT WILL YOU DO?

*Poker face* No he can’t. In fact, in Islam even beating your own child is not an arbitrary right! There are stringent guidelines as to when you can beat them (in case of extreme disobedience). Beating on the face of a child is prohibited and to correct them with love is always given a priority.

Then you say one can beat his wife? You cannot even uproot a plant in Islam without a valid reason (not even during wars), does it even sound logical that a religion will prohibit you from uprooting trees but will command hitting humans. No. Humans, animals, plants everyone is to be treated with kindness and the epitome of kindness was our Prophet (salallahu alayhi wasallam) who was the most kind to his wives.

7) WHY DO MUSLIMS WORSHIP THE KAABA (BLACK BOX)?

Islam is a pure monotheistic religion. Muslims worship only God. Muslims worship only the Creator and not the creation. The definition of a Muslim is one who submits to the will of God. The will of God is clearly told to us via Qur’an and hadiths.

So what is the black box you ask? It is a symbol of unity for Muslims all over the world to face and pray. Also, it is a pilgrimage site for Muslims. We do not worship it.

image

8) WHY DON’T YOU CHOOSE SOME OTHER RELIGION WHICH IS NOT SO TABOOED? SAY “XYZ” OR “ABC”.

*Chuckles*, I am not playing religion religion here. Nor am I merely in the whims of shifting religion. I would rather have stuck to my birth religion if I wanted to play safe and remain away from the tabooed religion. πŸ˜€

9) THINK ABOUT YOUR PARENTS MAN. YOU DON’T LOVE THEM? ORΒ  PARENTS COME FIRST, GOD WILL NEVER BE HAPPY IF YOU MAKE YOUR PARENTS UNHAPPY.

So, you say I don’t love my parents because I chose a new religion? I am actually rofling at that thought. So you are saying you have obeyed each and every decision of theirs eh? You didn’t date ever, you don’t like a girl your parents might not approve, you never had alcohol, you never lied to them and hanged out with friends, you never ate that junk without their permission, you never lied that you were studying but you were actually playing video games, you didn’t sneak to watch tv amidst exams when they were out, you didn’t lie about your teacher being strict whereas in reality you didn’t get marks because you didn’t study, you didn’t study to be an xyz where they wanted you to become a doctor or engineer, you didn’t refuse to wear that Tshirt your mom wanted you to wear, you didn’t yell at your mom when there was no reason to etc etc.

So you mean from the day you hit puberty, you have obeyed everything that your parents have asked you to? And anyone who thinks differently from his parents (possibly because they are a separate individual) doesn’t love them? Then I guess 99.9999% people do not love their parents. Why do I stand out?

And you seem to be very concerned about my parents. Care to adopt them? πŸ˜‰ *giggles*

FYI, Islam makes me care and love my parents even more. It has made me more sensitive towards my mom and my parents have noticed that I have mellowed down a lot towards them. Happy? Geeeeeeeeee.. smile! πŸ˜€

10) TAKE IT EASY. YOU ARE FOLLOWING IN EXTREME.

I am only following. How does my following anything make it extreme? Just because it is not the same as the way others choose to live, how is it extreme as long as it makes me happy and doesn’t harm a third person. If there is freedom of clothing, then my choice is hijab, if there is freedom of livelihood my choice is halal, if there is freedom to worship (or to not worship) my choice is my 5 salah(namaz) offered only to God, if there is freedom of life then this is the way I choose to live.

If you truly believe in living life at your own terms, if you are my well wisher and if you truly believe in being free from oppression, you would want me to be happy and not want me to live according to your notion of “happy”.

image

________________________________________________________________________________

**Disclaimer 2: these statements are merely told to add humour/ sarcasm. They are not meant to be taken seriously or personally. Any offence is not intentional. I am not a dog killer, animal welfare please spare me! πŸ˜‰ neither is there meant to be any threat to anyone in any of the answers. May good sense prevail.

Standard

58 thoughts on “TEN THINGS REVERTS GET TO HEAR

  1. The most common question that I get from born Muslims when they find out that I’m a revert is, “Are you truly a Muslim?” I’m a white, blue eyed American, so I guess most of them find it hard to believe that I’ve reverted. I began replying by gracefully reminding them that Islam transcends racial and cultural origins, which leads to a better conversation than before when I simply replied with “Of course.”

    I enjoyed your post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww. Jazakiallah khair sister. I am sure it must be a combination of happy sad feeling. Sad because of the obvious questioning and happy because you get the golden opportunity to give them dawah. Subhanallah! May Allah bless you immensely. ❀

      Like

  2. Pingback: TEN THINGS NEW REVERTS GO THROUGH - ImaanCentral.com

  3. Assamu alaikum… my sister 😊 i want your suggestion, This is my reverted sister’s question can you explain me about voting please jazakillahu khairan!

    “Salam, I need your advice,was just
    discussing with my parents about it and
    they want me to vote.I think I shouldn’t as
    a Muslim,suggestions? “

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Striving Muslimah says:

    MashaAllah sis. Very beautiful post. I am so proud of you. The in born Muslims must learn from you. May ALLAH strengthen the imaan of the whole ummah. May ALLAH bless you always.

    Liked by 4 people

      • Waalaikumussalam warahmattullah wabarkatuh. Jazak Allah khair sister. I am a born muslimah from India. I don’t wear hijab but now I desperately want to. Though I regularly pray and keep fast but I was never serious and gave it a thought to wear the hijab until recently one thing or the other led me to research more about Islam. The more and more I researched about Islam the more I fell in love with Allah and Islam. I realized the beauty of Islam in its true sense. Now I want to obey my Lord completely but I feel and actually it is, the hijab thing is taking me away from Allah. Wearing hijab is a big thing. I am afraid I won’t get a job and I don’t want to be dependent on my parents. But I know Allah will help me and Allah will do what is best for me. I trust him. I always pray that the day when I will start wearing the hijab comes soon. Your blogs have inspired me a lot to become a better muslimah in every way. I am so glad and thankful to Allah that I found you.
        (I have changed my name from striving muslimah to tryingtobeabettermuslimah)

        Liked by 1 person

      • as salamu alai kum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh sister. I apologise for being so late in replying. I am usually prompt, by the will of Allah, but my phone got damaged due to which I wasn’t able to blog properly since a few days! Have been borrowing my father’s laptop to sneak into my blog here and there. haha. Alhamdulillah.

        I am so glad to read this message from you. Where in india are you from? Tell me only if you are comfortable in sharing it. Also feel free to get in touch with me at therevertedmuslimah@gmail.com . It is always great to know and get inspired from practising sisters.

        I totally get your feelings. The part where you read and read and read. Then when you feel wearing the hijab is an quintessential to obey Allah. It is truly worth it. Don’t wait sister, start wearing it to feel how great it is. Even though the fear of not getting a job and stuff remains but would you like to be employed in a place where they do not want hijabis to be in? Once you start wearing it, In Shaa Allah you truly would not want to trade it for anything in this dunya.

        But I understand the fear and waswasa in the heart. I have been through it and every hijabi sister in a non muslim nation has been through it. I ask Allah azza wajal to help you to conquer this fear. SubhanAllah, I am eagerly waiting for the day when you drop me a message saying you wore it!!! hahaa.. even imagining it is making me so happy.

        May Allah ease it for you my dearest sister. πŸ™‚ Feel free to mail if you wish to speak personally. I am always there.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Alhamdulillah. I think sarcasm is taken differently through writings than spoken word depending on the person, face-to-face you can decipher it more through facial expressions. Nonetheless, I enjoy your posts. Wa iyyaki & Ameen πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. MashAllah I love that you included the statement that we can’t even hurt plants and trees even in wars! And they think we Muslims are allowed to beat our wives, my mom who reverted to Islam told me “do you know how many women in the U.S alone are battered?” We should be asking them that question! And I also love that you stated not to compare what other Muslims are failing to do while you are trying to Obey Allah and His Messenger. SubhanAllah!❀

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Asalaamu alaykum, mashaAllah a really good post. I don’t think you ever stop getting these questions from Muslims and non-Muslims. inshaAllah one of the beautiful things about reverting to Islam is that you know the dangers of jahilliyah and you’re so grateful that Allah swt guided you on the straight path. If we can’t meet in this duniya, I pray Allah swt reunites us both in jannatul firdous. Ameen x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Assalamu alaikum. This post is really very meaningful and its not the questions asked only to converters even we face it all the time specially about hijab,namaz, terrorism….May god gives us the strength to let people know how much peaceful our religion is…Ameen…If you permit me then could I copy paste your post on my FB page….

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wa alai kumus salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh. Of course you may share this post on fb. I will be more than happy if I am able to reach out to more people. Also, please to mention my blog site too so that more brothers and sisters may have access to my blog. Jazakillah khair.

      Love.

      Like

Leave a Reply

