my journey as a revert muslimah

An ode to my sisters…

I sit staring out, at the vast expanse. The unending fields, the unpurged breeze that seeps through my soul,

I sit here to count my blessings,
For that only will soothe a soul in despair,

I see my flesh, my limbs, my mind,
I see His creation in me.. SubhanAllah, I can’t complain.
Allah humma anta hassanta khalqi fa hassin khuluqi

I see the roof over me, I feel the comfort of my bed,
The lights and fans, my meals and sleep;

I start feeling thankful, my heart feels ease
Then a voice within me speaks, reminding me of my greatest blessings,

Truly a gift from Allah, my sisters for His pleasure alone,
A love so pure, for it is the love for His sake alone,

You hold me when I stagger, and reflect my deeds as my mirror,
Perhaps that’s the reason you were sent to me,
To soothe my heart with your honeydew words,

When I turn, you remind me of my Maker,
In my despair, you share with me glimpses of Jannah,
The stories of Rusool(صلي الله عليه وسلم), Shahabas and Ummah, you share it all to push me just a little more,

And when I laugh and leap with moments to share, you hold my hand to smile to say Alhamdulillah,
I confide in you, I tell you my dreams and out there I know you silently make duaa,

We laugh, we fight, we tease, we pray and we cry;
We learn and together we unleash all our agonies,
Hoping to walk along, in this road that traverses its way to Allah alone,

Time shall pass, tough or glorious,
We have seen it all and shall see it again,
No lover feels this, the essence of us is so pleasant,
For is it not only Allah who makes us one, with Him we start and with Him we shall end too.

image

Standard

11 thoughts on “An ode to my sisters…

Leave a Reply

