An Unworthy Compromise

An Unworthy Compromise- Part 2

#An Inspired Tale

image

When Aleena told me his name, I realised I remotely knew him. I say remotely because of the mere existence of a common social circle. For the first time in my life was I hearing about a hundred per cent match. Why then, is Aleena so frustrated? I was sure the answer was coming.

– ” Zobia, we spoke for over a month almost. Of course my wali was constantly involved in the whole thing. We are both students of knowledge studying in the second year of Muslims’ University Online, both are studying Software engineering from Hyderabad University. Moreover, we shared a lot in common. Our interest in deen was same, Alhamdulillah he too was very practising and in fact to keep it halal we decided to not exchange photographs till we reached a degree of confidence about our compatibility for marriage. He was working on a dawah kit software project and he mentioned in his profile that he wishes his spouse to be a part of it. Surpringly, I am already working on it independently since the last six months.”

-“MashaAllah.”, everything seemed like a perfect tale. I was still wondering what part of it upsets her today. I let her continue uninterrupted.

-” You know what the most impressive thing in his profile was? He said,

“if I want a Khadijah (radiallahu anhu) for my wife, I must adapt the ways of the Prophet (salallahu alayhi wasallam).”

Subhanallah! His thoughts were so profound. This, and so many other striking quotes to emphasize his love for deen and maturity.”

“And among His Signs is this that He created for you wives (spouses) from among yourselves, that you may find repose in them, and He has put between you affection and mercy. Verily, in that are indeed signs for people who reflect.”

(Surah Ar-Rūm, 30:21)

She then showed me their conversation in the matrimonial website. Everything seemed simple, nice and halal. She asked him certain questions about his practices and beliefs, his answers Alhamdulillah were wise and perfect. He asked her a few things and she, is MashaAllah a righteous woman. I must admit, I was very impressed by such crisp and respectful conversation. More so because they were very serious about deen and their future ambitions with respect to dawah. I looked up staring blank at her face not know in where this was heading to. What next?

-” So my wali seemed very impressed with him and he too seemed pleased. Therefore, we decided to take it to the next level. With mutual consent, we agreed to permit each other to view our photographs.”

image

It was a moment of suspense. The last thing I would hope for was they closing the conversation because of their looks. Aleena, for me was a dark beauty. Though slightly dusky in complexion, I have always found her features mesmerising. Her sophistication and wisdom quite added up to the charm. Aadil on the other hand, I remembered was fine as well. I wondered where the story was heading to.

-” after viewing the photographs, this is what he replied,

AsSalaamu alaikum, I will show your profile to my mother and let you know of updates. Meanwhile, if there are any updates from your end, please let me know.“. ”

SubhanAllah! That means he was pleased with the way she looked! It seemed to be the perfect story. Alhamdulillah, Aadil too was an average looking man but for people who strive for deen, appearances are but secondary. Aleena went on to tell me how before they shared their photographs, Aadil had mentioned that how deen was primary for him and then appearances. Subhanallah, and that’s what he had appreciated upon reading her profile.

And those who say, “Our Lord, grant us from among our wives and offspring comfort to our eyes and make us an example for the righteous.” (Surah Al Furqān, 25:74)

Now all of this brings me to square one. Why is Aleena upset? I called for a warm cup of coffee. It sure was going to be long conversation. I shrug myself and patiently look forward to what was going to come.

To be continued...

Standard

18 thoughts on “An Unworthy Compromise- Part 2

Leave a Reply

