Excerpts from my life

The Soul Attached to Debt

Bismillahir Rahmaanir Raheem

debt-management.jpg

 

It was narrated from Abu Hurairah that the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) that the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said:
“The soul of the believer is attached to his debt until it is paid off.”
Sunan ib Majah
Grade: Hasan
Reference: Vol. 3, Book 15, Hadith 2413‏

Subhanallah! It gives me goosebumps to read that. It was a good day. Husband and I were able to repay all our debts yesterday. It was a not-so-tough year and indeed it is true that our souls were constantly attached to the debts. There was not a thing we could peacefully purchase without thinking about the debts. Not even a simple dinner at a modest restaurant. So there was no shopping to do, no furniture at home (except a bed), no appliances and at one point no house-help

Amidst all this, there were lessons. We figured out how immaterial extravagance was. There was never a shortage of happiness or satisfaction. Allah subhana wa ta’ala helped us to understand at a very early stage that goodness does not come from money. We did everything that a normal person does. We did eat good food, we did have warm clothes in winters, we did go for budget travels, we did host guests now and then and Alhamdulillah we had a comfortable home in  a good locality as well. This sounds extravagant, does it not? The simplest pleasures of life comes for very cheap.

Yesterday, my neighbours were discussing their shopping. Everyone had been to some place for vacations and had purchased bedsheets, crockery and stuff. One of them was mentioning her intent to purchase a diwaan set since it will “look” good in her hall. I observed how I had nothing to speak about in this sitting. When I went for this short trip with my husband, visiting the market never crossed my mind. On a personal level, I have always disliked going to markets, interacting with shopkeepers, hoping from shop to shop in search of that one special piece in perfect quality and bargaining. I would rather not have that thing in my life 😀

Last evening was an evening of celebration for us. We relaxed unburdened. I mentioned how good it feels. I mentioned the neighbours intent of purchasing new furniture. For the first time Husband asked me, “Do you want to purchase some furniture? “. I could sense he was perhaps guilty of keeping me without furniture. I study on the same bed on which I write, sleep, jump, leap and sometimes eat when the floor is to cold to sit down.

All I had to say was, “naaah! I will only have to clean all the furniture if I buy.”

It is fun you know. I see my friends and neighbours spending hours each day cleaning the furniture. Scrubbing each table, wiping every ridge and curve. As for me, it is just one wipe on the bed edges. 😀 yaay! Where do you think I get all the time to write this stuff?
Anyway, I wanted to focus on steps we took to repay the debt. This was simple and quick. Let’s have a brief look-
  1. Calculate your monthly expense: I started writing down our expenses each day.
    At the end of the month I could analyse the expenses I could reduce.
  2. Slot a specific amount to repay each month: Now this depends on three factors- how much your loan is, how many months do you want to pay it off and what your minimum monthly expense is. So the first thing we did each month was to scrape away a portion in the beginning and give it away. The month when we expected guests or we had to go to visit family, we held back that amount. This delayed the repayment target by a few months. We managed our expenses and savings
  3. Cut down spending- there is pleasure in living without luxury. Think twice before investing somewhere- whether it is necessary or whether you can wait. Substitute more expensive things with lesser. Example- make something exquisite at home rather than dining out each week, leave a bit early and walk down to places instead of availing public transport, switch AC for a table fan etc.
  4. Indulge at times- Now, do not make life miserable. Of course buy yourself thing and accessories at times. Do dine out and have a good time. Invest in making good memories. Dress up and look good. Do not look poor and miserable. I save a little money each day to have my day. I may be a miniscule amount as Rupees 5 or 10 a day or maybe some days I would sneak in a 100 in my piggy. End of the month, it would be a fine amount to buy me a gift.
  5. Make dua- This is the most important. We never took our loans and our creditors for granted. Remember that only Allah can free us from debts and grant us rizq. Here are a few that we often recited-
  • “O Allah, make what is lawful enough for me, as opposed to what is unlawful, and spare me by Your grace, of need of others.”

اللَّهُمَّ اكْفِنِي بِحَلالِكَ عَنْ حَرَامِكَ وَأَغْنِنِي بِفَضْلِكَ عَمَّنْ سِوَاكَ
Allâhummak-finî bi-halâlika can harâmika wa aghninî bi-fadhlika camman siwâk. [At-Tirmidhi 5/560

  • “O Allah, I take refuge in You from anxiety and sorrow, weakness and laziness, miserliness and cowardice, the burden of debts and from being over powered by men.”

    اللّهُـمَّ إِنِّي أَعْوذُ بِكَ مِنَ الهَـمِّ وَ الْحُـزْنِ، والعًجْـزِ والكَسَلِ والبُخْـلِ والجُـبْنِ، وضَلْـعِ الـدَّيْنِ وغَلَبَـةِ الرِّجال
    Allâhumma innî a’oodhu bika minal-hammi walhazani, wal’ajzi wal-kasali, wal-bukhli wal-jubni, wa dhala’id-dayni wa ghalabatir-rijâl [Al-Bukhari 7/158]

In sha Allah very soon you will see debts settling down and flying away. It is a test of patience and with time, this trial too shall end.

It was narrated from Abu Hurairah that the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said:
“The best of you – or among the best of you – are those who pay off their debts in the best manner.”
Sunan ibn Majah
Vol. 3, Book 15, Hadith 2423
May Allah ease your affairs and rewards you.
Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh
Standard

3 thoughts on “The Soul Attached to Debt

  1. Walekum assalam warehmatullahi wabarakatahu. I really like the idea of giving treat to ourself..hahha..Even I keep some money (offcourse small amount ) for myself and in the end of the month I spend it ..Oh Allah what luxurious feeling it has LOL and most of the time its on trying different food items at hotels (U know hw much foody we are 🙂 ) . Hey even the idea of buying furniture…ditto like you. I avoid to buy things which I have to keep clean . Have less and enjoy more is a gud funda for happy life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: In Debt 1… | In The Quest Of Knowledge

Leave a Reply

