Excerpts from my life

Settling

Bismillahir Rahmaanir Raheem

muslim-woman-praying

It is almost a month from my previous post. As I reflect upon it and my state of mind whilst I was writing it,  I recall the gloominess around me. Alhamdulillah, how beautifully my Rabb looked after all my affairs.

I appeared for my exam last week and Alhamdulillah I cleared my Arabic test too. I remember being very tensed until I completed the paper. So much that I was not even certain to pass.  It was purely Allah’s mercy.

Alhamdulillah, I also managed to knock the door of my nearest neighbor one fine day. They lady who greeted me was a warm woman with an adorable toddler who could not stop laughing when I held him. There are four more doors I intend to knock this week In Sha Allah.

I’ve started to find ease in watching the sunsets and the trains the pass make me laugh when my voice sinks in their loud horns. I wake up to bright mornings with mild rays seeping right through the window on my sheets. Just how ideal could it be. The weather is always pleasant and the breeze oh so soothing! The squirrel by my window is pregnant, so I am expecting a flourishing squirrel family there soon.

The calmness has begun to settle within me.

By the mercy of Allah subhana wa ta’ala, I mingled with the Muslimahs here and managed to start a weekly study circle to ponder over the Qur’an. Knowing these girls has again showed me a bare aspect of the Muslim society. Our youth is not guided at all. It is not that they are not interested about their religion. It is wrong to blame that they are heedless. The fact is that nobody told them. I wonder what makes parents do this to their daughters. Perhaps nobody told them too.

There is an absolute dearth of knowledge about Islam in Muslims. What do we expect from the world then? If we are humiliated all over the world, whose fault is it? When we never bothered to know our Rabb and His Book, why do expect His Mercy to befall upon us. The situation is scary. I am at a place where girls join college wearing complete hijab, but after a few months drop it down due to some unknown reason. What could it be?

  1. Lack of knowledge: This is the root of all other reasons. When in the first place we do not know why we do certain things in Islam. It applies to everything we do- sawm, salah, sadaqah, service to people, being kind etc. Not just hijab. When the reason behind any act of worship is social conditioning, family values, parental instructions, or anything other than a heart attached to Allah, it will crash down the moment the reason crashes.
    Therefore, once the society, family or parental supervision is shoved aside, the hijab is also gone. Only a heart that worships out of taqwa of Allah azza wajal will continue to do it until it knows Allah is watching- Eternally.

  2. Lack of confidence: Yes, this is a major reason why most Muslim youth (sadly) does not want to look Muslim externally. It has been so tabooed in the media that a beard and hijab or a Muslim praying in public is often prejudiced to be incompetent or socially inferior. In such a scenario, it needs a lot of courage to prove your mettle in that attire. You have to be extremely good in what you do and at the same time “know” why you do it to answer a hundred questions (or comments) posed at you on Islam. These questions can range from genuine curiosity to being hurtful and discriminatory. Not knowing the answers might leave you humiliated and dumbfound, as well as a negative impact on the opposite person. Needless to say, it will also be a lost opportunity to serve information about Islam to the masses and make them ponder over it.
  3. Hostile environment: Yes, though most of the times the reasons of why we do not practise Islam openly is our own imagination of “what people will think or do” or inferiority complexes, sometimes the hostility does push the ones with a soft heart. The warden of the hostel has no issues with the girls going outside the campus with males or unknown men. She has no tab on girls secretly visiting the boys hostel or openly romancing in the lawns of the campus. But, she has a special tab on this set of girls when they adorn the hijab to attend the Tafseer sessions at my home. She suddenly remembers some alien rules of students not allowed to visit faculty homes. Not only the warden, even the authorities here (surprisingly with majority Muslims in the administration) have kept trousers and shirts as uniform for girls. I am not a moral police. But in India, uniforms in colleges is seriously not the trend. Why can there not be freedom of clothing? Why is freedom of clothing only expressed when females want to adorn western clothing or minimalistic clothing? Is wearing a hijab, abaya, salwar kameez, or scarf not a matter of choice too?

At this moment, gaining authentic and clean knowledge seems the only way.. Until we truly know what it means to be a Muslim, we will never feel confident to practise and speak about Islam. It is the religion of the Lord of Mankind! The Maker , The creator, the Fashioner of everything that exists of this Earth.

Look around and see His signs. Understand His Mercy. Feel His blessings in your own life. Know His Book- The Qur’an. Contemplate at the beauty of the verses. What is it that is expected from us as Humans- the beings with free will. Shall we destroy our own dunya, waste this time here and be doomed forever? Is there really no ultimate purpose our existence? Ponder.. for indeed He has given us his Ayahs (verses, evidences and signs) to ponder…

May Allah ease the affairs of the Ummah and increase us in knowledge and imaan.

114:1

قُلْ أَعُوذُ بِرَبِّ النَّاسِ –

Say, “I seek refuge in the Lord of mankind,

114:2

 

مَلِكِ النَّاسِ –

The Sovereign of mankind.

The God of mankind,
Standard

11 thoughts on “Settling

  1. Asalamu alaikum sister I have been reading your articles from few days as I am new to WordPress and I find them really inspiring mashallah . I am so admired by your personality and confidence that I wish to meet you someday in sha allah as I am also a Indian girl 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wa alaikum assalam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh sister. So happy to see your comment here. Where in India are you? Would love to speak to you. Keep in touch and feel free to mail me if you want to share anything. I promise to be quick in response in sha Allah

      Like

  2. Hajira says:

    Alhamdulillahi Rabbil A’alameen
    My dearest sister
    Well expressed post

    Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’ala alone guide us and grant us all the true understanding of Deen. Ameen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

